HD ready
CDFreaks Poll
I buy a console for gaming only
Yes
No
Based on 1144 ratings
German police crack address book of online piracy site

About this news article

German police crack address book of online piracy site
Posted by Dan Bell
Posted on 14/12/04 04:37
Number of views 5509
German police crack address book of online piracy site

DamnedIfIknow used our news submit to tell us "Hmm....and how many of these names are just plain fake?" Well I wonder about the whole story. Something here is just not right. For one thing, the information given is very sketchy. I can't tell what is meant by "swapping movies and computer games" because I sure don't understand where the 1 million Euros comes from. That is not swapping, that's some kind of sales figure. because no one is going to run ads on a site such as this! Also, I must also agree with Damned if I know- how can the authorities get hold of any names. Surely people were using an alias. There is more to this story than meets the eye.

A spokesman for the state crime office in the eastern region of Thuringia said that an ongoing probe of four Germans had allowed authorities to crack the online address book of the site, unmasking thousands of suspects.

"We don't know yet if we are talking about 8,000 or 20,000 people," the spokesman said, noting that copyright violators could face heavy fines or even prison terms.

The four men at the center of the probe between the ages of 19 and 46 were detained in September. Three have since been remanded in custody.

Authorities believe their Internet site, which was not named, posted revenues of nearly one million euros (1.3 million dollars).

The Hamburg Society for the Prosecution of Copyright Infringements (GVU) said that smashing the ring had wiped out a major part of the German-language Internet piracy industry.

C'mon! An online address book? This is very strange indeed. What is going on here does anyone know?

Source: Yahoo!





Next: Retail prices of 16x DVD burners continue to fall
Previous: Official Plextor PX-716a Firmware v1.02 posted


Want to submit your own news? Click here
@ Dan Bell this is to do with FTP-Welt.de where the Solicitor for a well know Munich Laywer Firm was involved, according to reports the people who operated this site had a File with there customers somewhere on there Servers, this site had nothing to do with swapping people payed to download Films,Games and Music and it now looks like they can give a little more money to the German State if the prosecutors deceide to take these people to court. :d
It's just funny to read their announcement NOW, because that unencrypted database is flying around all over the net since they day they were busted.

LOL
Thanks for the information guys! That was a heck of a lot better than what was given in the story. It makes sense now. :)
What do you think? Leave your comments!

Your message
:) :( ;) :r :d :B :X :c :o :g :+ :p :* :S

Your name
Your e-mail


Type in the code

Don't like to type in this code? Please register or login.
Related news
Related reviews/articles
Get the latest news via RSS RSS