Maybe more fake Verbatim media, this time 16x media?
Posted on 30/08/05 17:49 by Dan Bell                             
Maybe more fake Verbatim media, this time 16x media?

Pac used our news submit to tell us: I read about the counterfeit Verbatim 8x DVD-R here and was quite concerned about this. I also participate in a German forum called BrennMeister (BM). I found a thread there about 16x DVD-R Verbatim media with poor results. The guy with the problems read the paper in the cake box and followed the URL there to get more information: www.d*dhs.com - but this is a adult porn site! That's why he posted the story. So we took a look at our 16x DVD-R Verbatim media and found out that the URL there is www.dvdhs.com which is a real DVD-R(W) site with copyright by Pioneer! The person already contacted Verbatim about this issue and they are currently investigating this. I posted the news about the fake 8x media flooding Hungary and maybe he can find the same characteristics.

This looks like the real thing and there is certainly a trend lately of media that has a good name being counterfeited and sold to unsuspecting consumers. Anyone else had a similar experience they would like to share? If so, a good place is our Club CD Freaks Blank Media Forum.

Source: Brennmeister Forum

Reactions
Discuss this article with your fellow community members! We appreciate your valuable input, but please keep the reaction policy in mind and make sure your reaction is constructive.
By Electrox3d, Tue 30 Aug 2005 20:41
Electrox3dI don't fool around when it comes to buying media. I never go through meritline for instance. Just go to http://www.slidirect.com/ They stick with one type of DVD-R and they do DVD-RAM too (from Panasonic)
By cynicalbastard, Tue 30 Aug 2005 23:06
lol, the fake media manufacturers putting a porn site URL in the cake box? Pure class.
By Web-Junkie, Tue 30 Aug 2005 23:39
Maybe the pornsite is compensation for getting shafted over the fake media biggrin
By p5-, Wed 31 Aug 2005 00:02
uh, my REAL (afaik - burns well anyway) verbatim 16x dvd-r has that fake porn site url in it, and NOT the real www.dvdhs.com bought from www.cd-rmedia.co.uk is my media fake then?
By p5-, Wed 31 Aug 2005 00:05
oh the outside label on the 25 spindle cakebox has www.dvdhs.com but the inside label like this article mentions has the fake www.d*dhs.com
By lui_gough, Wed 31 Aug 2005 02:50
Well - fake fake fake getting passed off, maybe they're putting the site on to earn more money :P
By lui_gough, Wed 31 Aug 2005 02:50
doubleposted due to browser problem
[edited by lui_gough on 31.08.2005 02:51]

Name: Email:



Your comment:

Receive notification on new comments?