The copy DVD/Playstation to CD/VHS SCAM part II
Posted on 09/11/01 17:33 by Jan Willem                             
The copy DVD/Playstation to CD/VHS  SCAM part II

We already reported about this a little earlier, but it seems to become a more and more populair scam. Some guys are spamming with the subject: 'Now Copy VHS, DVD, 8mm with a CD Burner', only today I already received 3 different messages with the same kind of contents.

I did a little research to see if this is a company to trust (of course not, but here is the proof):


COPY ANY DVD MOVIE!
With our revolutionary software you can copy virtually any DVD Movie using your existing equiptment! Conventional DVD copying equiptment can cost thousands of $$ Our DVD Wizard cost less than the price of 2 DVD Movies!

CONVERT VHS INTO DVD!
Why pay for a copy of a movie on DVD that you already own of VHS??? Not all movies on VHS are available on DVD. So MAKE Them into a DVD yourself!! DVD Wizard Will teach you. Our Revolutionary DVD Wizard will help you create DVD's!

Copy DVD Movies And Create Your Own Personal Collection! Convert VHS and Camcorder Movies into DVD Movies


After a little tracking down on this, it seems that a 'company' called Carson Marketing Group is behind this and a lot of more spams.

How did I find out ? (just to proof)

  • I followed the URL in the mail and loaded the order page, in this page I found the form to be submitted to http://%31%33%30%2E%39%34%2E%31%34%34%2E%31%36%32/cgi-local/dvd/cc1.pl. Which is just an encoded URL to http://130.94.144.162/cgi-local/dvd/cc1.pl
  • This URL clearly shows an error message with an email address: webmaster@freeusaflags.com, so let's take a look at who registered this domain: here
  • Then using Google Groups we notice that this company has done some spamming, other results in the normal Google, shows that this company is also into Credit Cards and even Sattelite Dishes.

    So if you still believe you should order stuff like this, you must be really stupid...

    Source: CD Freaks.com

  • Reactions
    Discuss this article with your fellow community members! We appreciate your valuable input, but please keep the reaction policy in mind and make sure your reaction is constructive.
    By Guest, Friday 09 November 2001 18:18
    Let's SPAM this guy !!!!! :4
    By Web-Junkie, Friday 09 November 2001 18:32
    Wonder if they're the same assholes that spam my Hotmaill account: http://66.163.40.1/DVD/dvd3/
    By Guest, Friday 09 November 2001 21:33
    Let the stupid people get ripped off, they deserve it. Stupid people that fall for this shit are to blame for spam, not the spammers.
    By nider, Friday 09 November 2001 22:47
    niderIt's not a good idea to not care because only stupid people fall for it. It gives a bad name to all of us on internet. We all should stand together against this sort of fraud before it effects all of us.
    By Folharth, Sunday 11 November 2001 03:30
    Maybe "the stupid people" don't know how to protect them self , and WE CAN DO SOMETHING FOR THEM " fb" ,don't you THINK so. Frown
    By Guest, Friday 08 March 2002 12:41
    I've just completed a comprehensive investigation into the Carson Marketing group, and the results are posted on my website at: http://pgray.members.gn.apc.org/carson/carsonmarketinggroup.htm
    By dr_zeus, Friday 08 March 2002 16:05
    Excellent research on the spammer in article by pgray. I did find the location for Marketing Relief (parent company?) at Mapquest: http://www.mapquest.com/maps/map.adp?country=US&address =1457+martinique+ct&city=weston&state=fl&zipcode= 33326&homesubmit.x=49&homesubmit.y=7
    By Guest, Wednesday 27 March 2002 15:13
    Thanks for the compliment! As a result of information received, the original investigation has been continued, and is now into Chapter 2 which you can find at: http://pgray.members.gn.apc.org/carson2/carsonmarketinggroup2.htm Please note that the link to the original research (now Chapter 1) has changed - follow the links from Chapter 2. Latest news on this: Carson is now giving away his dodgy DVD copying doftware FREE on condition that you buy some equally dodgy VHS copying software. The Mapquest address above (Martinique Court, Weston, Florida) looks like being the most likely address for this spammer, out of several possible addresses researched.
    By Guest, Tuesday 02 April 2002 20:18
    pgray, It appears as if someone has hacked your pages. Some of your hyperlinks resolve to porn sites, and many of the addresses (FL I assume) have been changed to places in England!
    Name: Email:



    Your comment:

    Receive notification on new comments?